Ball + Canning = Success!!

We had a blast of a House Party! Most of my 9 guests had never canned but, now they’re converts!! It turned into a house party weekend as we ran out of time and still wanted to can Apple Butter. So, a few ladies returned on Sunday afternoon to can jars of Apple Butter.

At the party I served finger foods, beverages & birthday cake… it was gr8 way to celebrate my birthday having this house party fall on my actual bd!

It was really helpful having several copies of the Ball Blue Book guide to Preserving…with the large variety of recipes narrowing down which ones to make was a challenge!! I decided we’d make one difficult & two easier ones. The Pineapple salsa pg 81 was the most involved and two easier recipes: Strawberry jam pg 34 & Apple Butter pg 30. I tweaked some of the recipes by omitting sugar from my salsa recipe, instead we used Splenda in the Strawberry jam. I also added 1/2 c cider vinegar to the Apple butter which I had seen in another recipe. I’m thrilled to report after sampling everything  it all turned out beautifully. We watched carefully and waited to hear that loud pop after processing the jars. Finally, we added the cute labels to the top of each jar.

I found the small 1/2 pint Ball jars were perfect because everyone went home jars. It particularly works well for smaller families or if you don’t have much storage space, like most of us here in NY! The funnels were ample and flexible to use on any size jar. HP did good in sending so many!

My guests excited to receive the Ball canning goodies & high value Q’s from House Party. I had four door prizes offering a Ball Blue Book guide to Preserving & a funnel and only a funnel for two other guests. The adorable Ball gift bags were perfect for everyone to carry their canned goodies home. We’re discussing throwing another party in August. I still have Blueberries I hope to do that soon too.

Pineapple Salsa: Fresh pineapple, several apricots, a handful of Cilantro, red onion, a dash of Ginger) as well as for our Apple Butter. Guests minced all the ingredients and simmered it in a saucepan until it was soft enough to mash. Boil then ladle into jars and process in water bath using canning basket to carefully lift jars in and out of pot.

Strawberry jam: 2 qts fresh Strawberries, 7 c sugar (we used Splenda), 6 T Ball Classic pectin 1/4 c fresh lemon juice Crush berries ten place in a saucepan adding all ingredients and bring to boil. Ladle into sterilized jars & process in water bath.

Apple Butter: 10 Granny Smith apples, 2T freshly squeezed lemon, 1/2 c Apple cider vinegar, 1 1/2 c water, 1T cinnamon, 1t Allspice – add sliced apples and all ingredients and simmer until apples are soft enough then place it in a food processor and pulse until smooth. Ladle into jars and process in water bath.

This is a gr8 site w/recipes: http://www.freshpreserving.com/

OK House Party, I’m ready…for another House Party!!!

About Dahlia

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, petlover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. I can often be found with my best friend (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy lunching with g/f, shopping & yes, I love handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on June 27, 2011, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Ball + Canning = Success!!.

Comments are closed.