Crocheting begins…

with a chain stitch (cs). For all the creative fiber newbies… the chain stitch (cs) is the foundation from which all stitches are stitched.  Check out the u-tube instructional videos (below) which demonstrate how to make a chain stitch (cs) …then practice it yourself.  Once you’ve got that down, the second video demonstrates how to make the single crochet (sc) There are videos for every stitch. Don’t worry about mistakes…all you have to do is “frog it” – that’s what it’s called when we rip out all the stitches  and start over…(and we all do it!!). Happy hooking! 😉

You will need: (you can also check freecycle.org whether someone in your area might offer unwanted yarn or crochet hooks for free).

An aluminum crochet hook… I prefer Boye brand (it can be found at Walmart for under $2). I recommend using a J crochet hook (or larger) …this will make a large enough stitch work with. One side of the hook will have Boye the opposite side of the hook it will have a letter/number ie I, J, L, N.

Any brand of acrylic yarn or random balls of yarn. A skein of yarn at Walmart (or your local craft store) can cost you $3 – $5.

You tube has numerous ‘how to’ instructional videos for Crochet…this one is for Chain Stitch (cs).

Single crochet stitch:

About Dahlia

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, pet-lover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. Proud auntie to 3 nieces and 1 nephew. I can often be found with my best friend, (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy hanging with my girlfriends, lunching/shopping. I do <3 handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Crocheting is a beautiful work of art.

  1. Pingback: In the mood for: Summer Crochet – Nice Weave! | Twisted sunshine .. ♥

  2. Pingback: Labour of Love | Diane gets Crafty