What’s cookin…

It’s only the first week of the Fall season and I’ve already made my first hearty hot meal. I’m inspired by a number of food bloggers yum recipes. But this is my go to, quick and easy – no fuss dish. It will serve a hungry group. It’s also good as leftovers. I like spicy food but you could cut down adjusting to your taste.

Turkey Chili served with brown rice.

I use a large cast iron pan.

Saute, until wilted:
1 small Spanish onion, diced
1/2 large red/green pepper, diced
2 large cloves of garlic, minced

Add to the above and simmer until meat is cooked:
1 lb Ground Turkey
1 packet or, 1 t Chili powder, 1 t Onion powder, 1/2 t Salt, 1/4 t Cumin
1/4 t of Cayenne pepper – I like the “kick”
1 can of cooked Kidney beans
Stir in 1 small, 6 oz can of tomato sauce and 1/4 cup of water.

Add to the above a few minutes before you serve:
1/2 c frozen corn
4 oz shredded cheese (I used Cheddar)

For a simple dessert:

Dice a MacIntosh apple, sprinkle cinnamon & and drizzle with 1 T of maple sugar (can also use sugar free syrup). Heat in the micro for 40 seconds on high – serve warm.

About dahliadd

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, petlover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. I can often be found with my best friend (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy lunching with g/f, shopping & yes, I love handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on September 24, 2012, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love turkey chili. There is a restaurant in Maine where our summer cottage is that makes terrific turkey chili that I order even in the summer. Now I can’t wait to try yours.

  2. Nice to hear that Karen! I need to take note for the next time we visit Maine. We love the Ogunquit area.

    I hope you enjoy my version!