Sunshine …on cloudy Winter days

Sunshine BisquitsNothing beats the Winter weather like homemade soup along with what I coined “Sunshine” biscuits – they put a smile on everyone’s face 🙂

I used a can of the Pillsbury Grands biscuits.  One can contain 8 large biscuits, take 7 and slice each in half – place the one in the center of a lightly greased skillet. I used a 11″ cast iron skillet, or, in any large baking pan/sheet. Assemble each half around the pan, going in the same direction. Bake at 350 degrees for 14 -17 minutes.

Chicken Veggie soup

I love using the Crock Pot for soup.  This is my Chicken & Veggie Soup recipe:

6 cups of water

1 can diced tomatoes (with the juice)

1/2 Green/Red pepper – diced

1/2 large onion

2 stalks of diced celery

2 Large Carrots – sliced

3 Whole Bay leaves

2 t of Garlic powder

1 t Salt

A generous pinch of Black Pepper

A pinch of red Hot Pepper flakes – if desired

5 oz  of Tomato paste – OR, 1 packet of Sazon spice will give it some color

Cook on any temp on your slow cooker. During the last hour of cooking, add these:

One 16 0z can of Garbanzo beans (or, you may use White Beans instead)

1/2 c Uncooked Pasta, I used elbow shaped pasta

2 T of uncooked White/Brown rice

1 1/2 c of cooked shredded chicken. I used a chicken breast – leave out if you prefer Veggie soup.

About dahliadd

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, petlover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. I can often be found with my best friend (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy lunching with g/f, shopping & yes, I love handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on January 12, 2014, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Your sunshine biscuits definitely put a smile on my face. Are the petal biscuits on their side or just pushed together tightly? Your chicken and vegetable soup sounds terrific

    • 🙂 Yes, Karen, they are pushed together tightly. Thank you, I’ve been making a lot of soups in the Crock pot lately and this one is a favorite.