Happy Easter

After service tomorrow we’re going to a relative’s home and bringing a mini kitchen of cooked food.

I’m busy today boiling and dying several dozen eggs. A dozen hard boiled will remain intact and colored with food coloring. With the rest of the eggs I’m making deviled eggs. Hard to believe but I’ve never made deviled eggs!! I was inspired to try when I saw it online. I opted to use beet juice to dye them – works beautifully!! With some of the eggs I boiled and cracked but, did not peel. I soaked them in the juice for a half hour then peeled them. It resulted in a neat marbled look.

These eggs have the shell removed and are soaking in beet juice (straight from cans of beets).

Easter eye dying w Beet juiceEaster deviled eggs 4.19.14

Egg salad: I mixed in spicy mustard, salt, pepper, mayo then garnished with dried dill and paprika.

I’m making potato salad, a 14 lb ham garnished with pineapple chunks (a tradition in our home). Love getting this free deal from ShopRite with their annual “spend this and get a FREE Ham, etc”. Easter Ham 4.2014

Thank you Jesus!!! Thank you for dying for all of us!!!  Happy & Blessed Easter dear friends!!

EASTER

About dahliadd

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, petlover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. I can often be found with my best friend (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy lunching with g/f, shopping & yes, I love handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on April 19, 2014, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Happy Easter.

Comments are closed.