Happy Fall Cooking

Autumn starts tomorrow but here in NY the days are already cooler. So, I’ve actually turned the oven on again! Although we had a mild Summer, the last thing I want to do is turn on the oven. I rarely make pasta but when I do I go all out. This dish could easily be made with zuccini/squash and gluten free pasta, if need be. I made this the other evening…mmm, mmm…

Shells lasagna

PASTA:
Box of shells – cook halfway, al dente

SAUCE:
6 oz can of Tomato paste & can of tomato puree
Add fresh/powdered garlic, a bayleaf, pinch of oregano, & red
pepper flakes, salt, black pepper – simmer.

Stir in 6 oz of Ricotta cheese to the finished sauce.

MEAT:
Cook your ground meat with same spice used above (I used Turkey) it can also be made with meat.

ASSEMBLE LASAGNA:
Spray/oil the bottom of your lasgana pan (I used a smaller 12×9″ pan) and made 3 layers. Double your recipe to make a larger lasagna.

Add a ladle of tomato sauce to the bottom of the lasagna pan.
Layer pasta, scatter frozen green beans, cheese (shredded mozzarella &
cheddar cheese, sauce and repeat 3x’s. Add sauce and cheese to
the top. Cover with foil and bake 350 degrees for 30 minutes

About Dahlia

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, pet-lover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. Proud auntie to 3 nieces and 1 nephew. I can often be found with my best friend, (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy hanging with my girlfriends, lunching/shopping. I do <3 handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on September 21, 2014, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Happy Fall Cooking.

Comments are closed.