Cold Winter day = Soup!

Acorn Squash soup on the menu. Very simple, fresh tasting soup is a winner!!

1 large Acorn squash – do not peel (chop in pieces)

1 medium onion (chunked)
1 large Elephant garlic ( leave  peel on)

Olive oil
Salt
Black Pepper

image

Roast all of the above at 450 degrees in a large roasting pan. Roast til the edges are toasty.

image

Remove pan and allow the veggies to cool.

Scoop the squash out and discard the skin of squash and garlic.

image

Put in in the kitchen Aid and pulse til smooth. It will be thick.

image

In your pot add veggie/ chicken broth until you get the consistency you like. I added 1.5 cups.

image

Stir and simmer. You may add coconut milk just 1 minute before serving for a creamier consistency.

About Dahlia

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, pet-lover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. Proud auntie to 3 nieces and 1 nephew. I can often be found with my best friend, (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy hanging with my girlfriends, lunching/shopping. I do <3 handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Cold Winter day = Soup!.

Comments are closed.