Mom’s Cheese Ball recipe for the holidays

My Amaryllis and Christmas cactus are in full bloom – so beautiful!!

20151207_082344.jpg20151206_081920.jpg

 

Being the the first Christmas since my mom died I’m having sentimental moments of sadness. Everything about the holidays remind me of mom. She had a zest for celebrating and enjoying even the simple things in life. I take after her there as well.

I go on celebrating all the great things in life and know that she is resting in peace, and my guardian angel.

In honor of my mom I’ve entered a recipe contest submitting her favorite Christmas recipe for the buffet. She made is every year!

I like that this is simple and can be made a day or two in advance of your party.

20151210_135849.jpg

Mom’s Cheese Ball:

1 block of cream cheese

3/4 cup finely shredded Cheddar cheese

2 stalks of scallions (diced)

1 teaspoon of dried dill

2 teaspoons of dried chives

1/4 teaspoon of black pepper

After one hour resting time in the refrigerator roll the cheese ball in the nuts and wrap in saran warp and frig until ready to use.

Chopped Walnuts (I used) or Pecans

Mix all of the above in a medium sized bowl, rolled into one large ball and place in the refrigerator for an hour. After an hour take it out and gently roll the ball in the nuts making sure to cover the entire cheese ball. Wrap in saran wrap and leave in the refrigerator until ready to serve. I serve it with pita chips/assorted crackers and sliced apples.

 

About Dahlia

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, pet-lover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. Proud auntie to 3 nieces and 1 nephew. I can often be found with my best friend, (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy hanging with my girlfriends, lunching/shopping. I do <3 handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on December 10, 2015, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Mom’s Cheese Ball recipe for the holidays.

Comments are closed.