‘Canoes’ on the menu…

20160516_183344.png

I made the first (of many to come) Summer squash dishes tonight.

Thinking of my mom and how she made these with the pounds and pounds of squash the neighbors up at our Summer cottage would share with us every year. She had to get creative and these were always a hit with all of us although, the squash she used were 10″+ (not like the ‘babies’ I used).

We call them ‘canoes’.

Slice each squash/zucchini lengthwise, scoop out the center. That extra squash gets chopped up and added to the meat filling. Use any ground meat, I used Turkey, which I sautéed with green pepper, onions, garlic & Sazon seasoning – does not contain MSG – unlike other brands. Once the meat filling is done, scoop it into the ‘canoes’ and place in a baking dish coated with olive oil.
Bake, uncovered at 375 degrees for 25-40 minutes, you can sprinkle with your favorite cheese during the last few minutes of cooking. The squash should be fork tender and roasted.

The ‘canoes’ can also be filled with a savory rice, like the side dish (arroz con gandules) I made (above). I served with a side of cukes and plantain chips.

 

About Dahlia

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, pet-lover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. Proud auntie to 3 nieces and 1 nephew. I can often be found with my best friend, (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy hanging with my girlfriends, lunching/shopping. I do <3 handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on May 16, 2016, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on ‘Canoes’ on the menu….

Comments are closed.