Dollar Tree – Grand Opening

Finally, White Plains gets a Dollar Tree store today!!
I had high expectations since every DT I’ve ever been too (out of NY) is a large well stocked and varied discount store. So, I was excited & anxious to see what ‘freebies’ might be offered to the first guests.

Well, the grand opening was delayed 2 hours as they waited for the “money man”…really people!? Ugh. Meantime, a dozen or so customers waited outside. Finally, the guy arrives, loads the cash registers. The employees gather outside for the obligatory group shot. Doors open!!

Inside is clean, stocked well but wait, it’s not a very large store!! 😦  Why didn’t they use the entire existing space that the previous retail store had!? YGBK (you gotta be kidding). It looks like they’re using it for inventory – how bizarre! Oh, no freebies or coupons for the guests! *Sigh* Wow, no ‘whoop di-do’ here!

So, it’s not a large store. They have the usual dedicated aisles for cards, helium balloons & gift wrap, toys, stationary items, spices/food items, a large frozen food area, bath and cleansers, etc. Some sections are smaller than others. I was expecting a larger area for decorations/holiday stuff. I hope the seasonal section of supplies expands. It makes changing it up for the holidays easy on the pocket. I found this cute RW&B scarf for the upcoming USA holidays. #score I also picked up some cleaning supplies. Compared to other local ‘discount’ stores this is the best place for cleaning supplies – some other places charge over $3 for the same cleanser. So, that’s all, for now.
image

About Dahlia

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, pet-lover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. Proud auntie to 3 nieces and 1 nephew. I can often be found with my best friend, (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy hanging with my girlfriends, lunching/shopping. I do <3 handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on May 19, 2016, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve never been a Dollar Tree but have been to some that a similar. Sorry that you didn’t find lots of things to buy at a real savings. Perhaps it will get better in time.