Eggplant parmigiano, on the menu

A friend shared her homegrown eggplant. So, parmigiano is what was cooking in my kitchen this weekend.

20160917_150635.jpg20160917_164447.jpg

 Italian tomato sauce

2, 16 oz. can of tomato puree

1.5 cup of water

2 T extra virgin olive oil

1/2 medium yellow onion, minced

1 large bayleaf

Small bunch of fresh basil (reserve some to garnish final dish)

Large pinch of dried oregano

3 large garlic cloves, minced

1 t. Salt

Simmer on medium for 45-60 minutes.

Once done add 1/4 cup of Parmesean cheese to hot sauce. Add 1/4 cup of Ricotta cheese. Reserve both mozzarella & ricotta for assembling the eggplant.

Eggplant

1 sliced (med-thick) eggplant

Soak in salt water for 10 minutes, rinse off and pat dry.

Add 1 tab of Olive oil to a cast iron pan. Do in batches. Cook for 1-2 min, flipping as it browns.

Set aside eggplant

Shred mozzarella cheese

Assemble like you would lasagna layering sauce, eggplant, cheese.

Bake 30-45 minutes.

Let the entire dish sit for at least 30 minutes to soak up the sauce.

Serve and enjoy!

About dahliadd

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, petlover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. I can often be found with my best friend (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy lunching with g/f, shopping & yes, I love handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on September 18, 2016, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Eggplant parmigiano, on the menu.

Comments are closed.