Women’s March in NYC

 

We boarded the Metro North train into the city, a 32 minute ride, from Westchester county. At every train stop more and more Pink Pussy Hats entered. There was a common exitement in the train and even at Grand Central Terminal, although it was packed by everyone moved along smoothly. It was easier than rush-hour. The positive energy at the March was palpable and emotional. We did not bring signs, thinking we’d get a few at the March. Instead, a nice  random guy handed us extra handmade signs he had. And, a women handed out some cool buttons. Nice!

The Batala Drumming group of NY were amazing – all female ‘badass’ drummers – they  performing along the March.= rocking the city streets!

The crowds were massive, over 400k in NYC & many more  from Marches all over the world – unreal! We were united, “we the people” all marching for civil rights, for all. Men, many families with children and, older folks converged onto 42nd street then 5th Avenue.  As a native New Yorker I’d never been a part of such a large gathering. – it was surreal. Even the weather cooperated – with temps in the 40’s.

I am grateful I was able to share this historic day standing alongside my husband.

About Dahlia

I'm a Christian, married to an awesome man ♥ - a vigilant fighter against injustice. I'm a doer, deal seeker, petlover, nature lover, and optimistic "sweeper". I love fiber, art, textiles, & acrylic paint. I can often be found with my best friend (Husband) at local galleries/carnivals/festivals, day trips, antiquing, bargain shopping, concerts, walking/cycling around my beautiful city. I also enjoy lunching with g/f, shopping & yes, I love handbags! My fav read: mystery & crime novels.

Posted on January 22, 2017, in Dahlia Dishes & Deals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Women’s March in NYC.

Comments are closed.